Art Forms – 2017 Acoustic Instrument

National Young Performer Awards

 2017 Instrumental Criteria

Downloadable & Printable format

2017 Criteria for Acoustic Instrument

A. Competitors shall be 15 and under 21 years of age as at 1st October 2017

B. This award is open to competitors on any (non-electric) acoustic instrument. *

C. The programme should consist of three contrasting pieces from different periods of musical history, i.e. Baroque, Classical, Romantic, 20th Century or Contemporary.

D. Each competitor shall perform a programme of fifteen to twenty minutes. There will be a percentage mark for the complete programme.  A penalty of 5 marks will be imposed if the time limit is preceded or exceeded by 30 seconds or more.

E. There will be a semi-final of up to six competitors who will repeat their full programme, as set out in B. and C. Competitors will be chosen based on their marks  in the Preliminary round.

F. For the Final Award Concert three competitors will be recalled and will perform one piece of the adjudicator’s choice from their original programme.


Society Nomination

Each Society, which is a financial member of PACANZ, may nominate up to two competitors, which shall be selected by the adjudicator, based on a performance as outlined in A-D (above).

The adjudicator will determine that a competitor has displayed a sufficient standard of performance to competently represent that society at the National Finals.

The standard required will be at the absolute discretion of the adjudicator but will include;

  • A demonstration of adequate preparation
  • An authority of performance
  • A performance with a level of maturity commensurate with a national final competition of this age group.


If the adjudicator considers that sufficient standard has NOT been reached by any competitor, then NO nomination will be made.

The Nominee is responsible for paying part of the entry fee to the National Young Performer Awards i.e. $175.00 inc GST


Direct Entry

If the adjudicator considers that more than two competitors have reached a sufficient standard, the adjudicator may report to the committee that those competitors should be given the option of a Direct Entry.

The Direct Entry competitor will be responsible for paying the full entry fee i.e. $250.00 inc GST


NB: as PACANZ runs a separate pianoforte competition in the following year, pianoforte is not included under Acoustic Instruments.


Past Winners

1985      Peter Sagar

1988      Timothy Emerson

1991      Claire Ellis MacPherson

1994      Ross Henderson

1997      Laura Thomson

1999      Simone Roggen

2001      Victoria Simonsen

2003      Eugene Lee

2005      Jun Bouterey-Ishido

2007      Amalia Hall

2009      Hilary Hayes

2011      Ryan Cha

2013      Harim Oh

2015      Matthias Balzat