Art Forms – 2017 Highland and National Dance

National Young Performer Awards

2017 Highland Criteria

 Downloadable & printable format

2017 Criteria for Highland & National Dance

A. Competitors shall be 15 and under 25 years as at 1st October 2017

B. Each competitor shall perform in three classes during the preliminary round, in the following order:

  1. Choice of one solo Highland dance; Highland Fling, Seann Triubhas, Sword Dance
  2. Choice of one solo Irish step dance; Irish Jig Single Time, Irish Jig Double Time, Irish Hornpipe
  3. Sailors Hornpipe


C. There will be a semi-final of up to eight performers who will repeat either B1, B2 or B3 at the discretion of the Adjudicator. Competitors will be chosen based on their marks in the Preliminary round(s).

D. For the Final Award Concert  three performers will be recalled and shall repeat an item from B, but not the item performed in the semi-final.

E. The marks from the preliminary and semi-final rounds will NOT be carried over to the final performance.


Society Nomination

Each Society, which is a financial member of PACANZ, may nominate up to two competitors, who shall be selected by the adjudicator, based on a performance as outlined in A-B (above).

The adjudicator will determine that a competitor has displayed a sufficient standard of performance to competently represent that society at the National Finals.

The standard required will be at the absolute discretion of the adjudicator but will include;

  • A demonstration of adequate preparation
  • An authority of performance
  • A performance with a level of maturity commensurate with a national final competition of this age group.


If the adjudicator considers that sufficient standard has NOT been reached by any competitor, then NO nomination will be made.

The Nominee is responsible for paying part of the entry fee to the National Young Performer Awards i.e. $175.00 inc GST


Direct Entry

If the adjudicator considers that more than two competitors have reached a sufficient standard, the adjudicator may report to the committee that those competitors should be given the option of a Direct Entry.

The Direct Entry competitor will be responsible for paying the full entry fee i.e. $250.00 inc GST


Past Winners

1980      Grayson Appleton-Seymour

1983      Alan Clotsworthy

1986      Lynley McCullough

1989      Kelly Fraser

1992      Jan McKerrow

1995      Rachel Brownie

1997      Kylie Allison

1999      Nabila Piper

2001      Kylie-Anna Sisarich

2003      N/A

2005      Sara Simmons

2007      Sarah Chapman

2009      Emma Cropper

2011      Chantelle Shatford

2013      Shirana Rengasamy

2015      Sarah Gluyas