Art Forms – 2018 Pianoforte

National Young Performer Awards


2018 Criteria for Pianoforte

A. Performers shall be 15 and under 21 years as at 1st of October 2018.

B. Each competitor shall perform a programme with a maximum time of twenty minutes. There will be percentage mark given for the complete programme.  A penalty of 5 marks will be imposed if the time limit is exceeded by 30 seconds or more.

C. The programme should consist of three contrasting pieces from different periods of musical history, i.e. Baroque, Classical, Romantic, 20th Century, 21st Century or Contemporary.

D. In the event of a large number of entries requiring a semi-final, competitors will be chosen based on their marks in the Preliminary round.The number of semi-finalists is determined as per the NYPA rules 7.1-7.2.        Those competitors  recalled will repeat their complete programme, as stated in B and C.

E.  Three finalists will be chosen for the Final Award Concert and will perform one piece of their own choice from their original programme.


Society Nomination

Each Society which is a financial member of PACANZ, may nominate up to two competitors,which shall be selected by the Adjudicator, based on a performance as outlined in A – C ( above)

The adjudicator will determine that a competitor has displayed a sufficient standard of performance to competently represent that society at the National Finals.

The standard required will be at the absolute discretion of the adjudicator but will include;

  • A demonstration of adequate preparation
  • An authority of performance
  • A performance with a level of maturity commensurate with a national final competition of this age group.

If the adjudicator considers that sufficient standard has NOT been reached by any competitor, then NO nomination will be made.

The nominating Society is responsible for paying part of the entry fee National Young Performer of the Year Award i.e. $75.00 inc gst

The Nominee is responsible for paying part of the entry fee to the National Young Performer of the Year Award i.e. $175.00 incl gst


Direct Entry Nomination

If the adjudicator considers that more than two competitors have reached a sufficient standard the adjudicator may report to the committee that those competitors should be given the option of a Direct Entry Nomination.

The Direct Entry Nominee will be responsible for paying the full entry fee i.e. $250.00


2018 Pianoforte Criteria



Past Winners

1982      Katherine Austin

1991      Mandy Tong

1994      Timothy Evans

1996      Henry Wong Doe

1998      Kirsten Simpson

2000      Justin Bird

2002      Flora Lee

2004      Jun Bouterey-Ishido

2006      John-Paul Muir

2008      Jason Bae

2010      Grace Francis

2012       Tina Kim

2014      Amy Ga Hee Lee

2016      Delvan Lin